Georgia Chief Technology Officer Steve Nichols has been honored with the prestigious State Technology Innovator Award for 2017 from the National Association of State Chief Information Officers (NASCIO). He received the award October 2 at NASCIO’s Annual Conference in Austin, Texas.

The award recognizes an outstanding individual for their:

  • Personal leadership and advocacy in advancing the state’s technology policy agenda, and
  • Adoption of emerging technology, demonstration of best practices, and innovation in service delivery.

Dr. Nichols advises GTA’s leadership and other state agencies on critical technology issues. He has played a central role in numerous initiatives to modernize Georgia state government’s IT infrastructure and has served on national boards responsible for developing and recommending technology policies and practices.

He participated in a national workgroup charged with creating standard language for government-sector purchase agreements for cloud services, and the work group issued the Guide to Cloud Procurement after nine month’s effort.

He was also appointed to the Technical Architecture Review Board by the Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services and charged with advising on IT transformation and business integration of the Medicaid program nationwide.

Dr. Nichols was a key figure in the years-long initiative to consolidate and modernize the state’s IT infrastructure. He advised on the state’s Service Integration Initiative, whose goal is to make it easier for state agencies to benefit from changes in the IT marketplace.

Among his current responsibilities, he provides executive leadership for Georgia’s state portal,, including several critical enterprise applications and the webMethods Enterprise Service Bus, which enables the sharing of information among different state information systems.

Before joining GTA in 2001, he was a principal consultant at Daugherty Business Solutions in Atlanta. He holds a Ph.D. in physics from the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Previous award recipients include former Iowa Governor Terry Branstad, former Nebraska Governor Dave Heineman, and Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper.